Nine fire stations to be established in Enugu: Official

The Enugu State Government plans to establish new fire stations in nine council areas without fire stations in the state in the year 2022, a fire service official said.

Okwudili Ohaa, the Enugu State Chief Fire Safety Officer, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Sunday that the government’s plan was to have a functional fire station in the 17 local government areas.

He said that the new fire stations had been captured and appropriated for in the state’s 2022 budget.

“So far, we have eight functional fire stations in eight council areas out of the 17 council areas in the state.

“They are situated in Enugu North, Enugu South, Nkanu West, Udi, Oji River, Igboeze North, Udenu and Nsukka council areas.

“Hopefully, the fire stations for the remaining nine council areas will come on stream this year and they will have mini-staff quarters for the fire officers as well as new fire engines and tankers,” Mr Ohaa said.

The fire service chief disclosed that apart from the over 10 fire stations and units built by Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, he had facilitated installation of fire extinguishers in public/government buildings, schools and markets in the state.

“The governor has so much supported fire safety, other forms of safety and secured environment in the state; thus, making the state the safest in the country.

“With the growing network of fire stations scattered in the state and recent deployment of mobile fire units as well, we have drastically reduced our fire response time to about five minutes after receiving distress calls,” he said. 


Related posts

South-East leaders given roadmap for 2023 Igbo presidency


Armed bandits invade Plateau poly, kidnap students


FHA bows to pressure over FESTAC demolition


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: